Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

(originally published to Bubblews writing site, now gone)

I’m not particularly into astrology but whenever I’ve read a general description of personalities and traits, I seem to belong much more to the sign I was supposed to be born under than the one I was actually born under. Yet when I checked a few forums such as Yahoo answers, I’m told that your sign is based on your actual birth date.

I was born on September 26 which makes me a Libra (Sept 23 to Oct 22), but I was 10 days late and was supposed to be born on September 16 which, on this basis, would make me a Virgo (Aug 23 to Sept 22).

This is some of what the Virgo page at astrology.com (http://www.astrology.com/article/zodiac-signs-virgo-sun-sign.html) has to say, together with my comments:

“picky and critical.” Yes. Those who knew me on the Helium forums would probably agree.

“born to serve.” I was in the public service for 25 years.

“industrious, methodical and efficient.” I would like to think so.

“work for the greater good.” Yes, I’ve always been more interested in this than making a heap of money.

“modesty and humanity.” Yes.

“enjoy indulging their practical and logical side and poring over their projects to the nth degree.” Yes, both in the workplace and outside.

“good at fact-finding.” Yes.

“exacting (… pedantic) behavior.” Often.

“asset in the workplace … no detail will be overlooked.” I think I had a reputation for this.

“brain is in overdrive most of the time.” Seems to be much of the time.

“prone to skepticism.” Yes.

“studious.” Six and half years’ full time equivalent at university.

“careful analysis.” Yes.

“enjoy studying a situation in great detail.” Yes.

“perfectionism.” Often. Hey, I’m an editor.

“extremely health conscious.” Maybe “quite” or “very” rather than “extremely.”

On the other hand, the Libra page (http://www.astrology.com/article/zodiac-signs-libra-sun-sign.html) says this:

“first and foremost focused on others and how they relate to them.” Well, not really.

“do not want to be alone.” I work, study, research, analyze better alone.

“everything is better if it’s done as a pair.” I’m happily married, but we each like our own space and time for a portion of the day.

“true team players at work.” I did better work by myself. Teams sometimes frustrated me (as member and leader) as they often seemed to get bogged down or go in circles.

“abhor conflict.” I wouldn’t say that.

“strategists, organizing groups with poise and getting the job done.” Yes for the first and third parts, but perhaps less strong at organizing groups (though could still do this).

“companionable, sociable.” Maybe not all the time.

“do so well at cocktail parties.” Not really my scene.

“suave.” Doesn’t really sound like me.

Thus I seem to fit much more into the Virgo mold than I do Libra. But then I had a look at a couple of other sites looking at true star signs, such as livescience.com article, “Astrology: Why your Zodiac sign and horoscope are wrong”, at http://www.livescience.com/4667-astrological-sign.html. They indicate that conventional star signs accord with constellation positions over 2000 years ago. The star signs and birth dates according to this web page are now (I’ve added the number of days as they vary a lot):

Capricorn – Jan 20 to Feb 16 (27 days)

Aquarius – Feb 16 to Mar 11 (23 days)

Pisces – Mar 11 to Apr 18 (38 days)

Aries – Apr 18 to May 13 (25 days)

Taurus – May 13 to Jun 21 (39 days)

Gemini – Jun 21 to Jul 20 (29 days)

Cancer – Jul 20 to Aug 10 (21 days)

Leo – Aug 10 to Sep 16 (37 days)

Virgo – Sep 16 to Oct 30 (44 days)

Libra – Oct 30 to Nov 23 (24 days)

Scorpius – Nov 23 to Nov 29 (6 days)

Ophiuchus – Nov 29 to Dec 17 (18 days)

Sagittarius – Dec 17 to Jan 20 (34 days)

According to this, I’m a Virgo. But it seems this version of star signs is far less commonly used than the conventional one. So where does this leave us? Perhaps I should continue to not worry about astrology too much and just get on with things. Anyway, it was an interesting little project.

